Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

Diamond grading : the 4Cs of diamond quality : diamond cut , color, clarity and carat

The 4 Cs of diamonds explained

One of the first things you will learn when you start reading more about diamonds are the 4Cs of a diamond.  4 characteristics are used to determine the quality of the stone


      • Diamond Carat
      • Diamond Color
      • Diamond Clarity
      • Diamond Cut


These four characteristics represent the quality of a diamond and are used to identify the stones. They represent the most common used characteristics used by labs to do their diamond grading. It was not until the middle of the 20th century that a uniform diamond grading scale was developed by one of the leading diamond laboratories. From that point onwards loose diamonds were graded and each diamond was able to receive a certificate indicating diamond weight, color, cut and clarity.


For more information about the diamond 4 Cs visit our education pages where we show in detail why each of these matters and how you can use them to find the best loose diamond for your budget online :

 GIA explaining these 4 C's:

Further diamond education

Our diamond education pages help you to understand the 4 Cs of diamond quality so yo can choose your next diamond wisely.

Learn more about :   The different diamond shapes - Diamond certification

Learn more and save money buying diamonds online. Get your FREE guide today.