Premium Diamonds
Premium Diamonds
Price match guarantee
Price match guarantee
Ethically Sourced
Ethically Sourced
Worry-Free shopping
Worry-Free shopping

Learn the 4 Cs

The four Cs of diamonds explained
One of the first things you will learn when you start reading more about diamonds are the 4Cs of diamonds.

These characteristics are used to determine the quality of the diamond.





These four characteristics represent the quality of a diamond and are used to identify the stones. They represent the most common used characteristics used by labs to do their quality grading.

It was not until the middle of the 20th century that a uniform grading scale was developed by one of the leading diamond laboratories. From that point onwards loose stones were graded and each diamond was able to receive a certificate indicating its weight, color, cut and clarity. These certificates became a valuable source of information to determine the quality and assess the value of the stone.

For more information about the 4 Cs of diamonds visit our education pages where we show you in detail why each of these matter and how you can use them to find the best possible diamond while saving on your budget :

Learn more about the 4 C's of diamonds

Diamond Carat Size
The diamond carat size is the unit of measurement used to
indicate the weight of a diamond.
Diamond Color
After diamond cut , color is the second most important quality aspect
to consider when choosing a diamond.
Diamond Clarity
Diamond Clarity refers to the presence 
of imperfections in a diamond.
Diamond Cut
Cut does not only refer to the shape of the diamond but also to the proportions,
symmetry, and polish of the diamond.

How to choose a diamond by GIA

Further diamond 101 Learning

History Of Diamonds
Diamonds have a long history as beautiful objects of desire.
DIamond Certification
Learn how the certification labs grade diamonds to match internationally agreed standards.
Diamonds District
Since 1447, Antwerp diamonds have been synonymous with quality and superior craftsmanship.